• »
  • »

How to Unblock Someone on Instagram – 2020?

6 min read
September 17, 2020
Instagram is a very popular social media platform that allows its users to publish media content available for millions of people around the world. It is also a great marketing tool for your product. However, sometimes you may find yourself in need of blocking specific accounts so they don't bother you anymore. You may disagree with other users regarding their position on a certain topic, have an argument with a friend or receive a hate speech from a user you don't really want to argue with - restricting such people from texting you is one of the solutions. It might be problematic for the people to undo this action for a certain reason, so we have composed a detailed guide about how to unblock someone using various devices.

When you block an account, it means that the person responsible for its activity will not be able to write you a message and see your posts in the feed. It is actually a bit harder for a user to unblock someone rather than blocking an account. It is hidden in Instagram settings quite well and you may lose plenty of time trying to find this tool. However, with our help you should have no problem with it if you somehow blocked an account intentionally or accidentally and want to undo your action.

How to unblock someone on Instagram on a mobile device

The best option to use Instagram is doing so from the mobile device. It is quite simple to put it out of your pocket and post a beautiful picture of the environment or send a message to a certain person. One can also remove the account restrictions using only mobile phones. Here is the list of step you should follow if you would like to use a mobile device:


  1. Open the Instagram application on your mobile device.

  2. Log in to your account.

  3. Tap on your profile icon located at the lower right corner of the application.

  4. Open the menu at the top right corner of the application represented by three horizontal lines.

  5. Select Settings menu, located at the bottom of the menu.

  6. In the Settings menu select "Privacy".

  7. Scroll down until you see the line "Blocked Accounts". Tap on it.

  8. There you will see all the accounts you blocked. Tap "Unblock" for the account you would like to allow to message you and see your posts again.

  9. You will see a notification asking you to confirm this action towards the people you want to unblock and telling you that "they will now be able to request to follow you on Instagram. Instagram won't let them know you unblocked them".

  10. Tap "Unblock" if you want to finish this process or "Cancel" if you changed your mind.

how to unblock someone on instagram

How to unblock someone on Instagram using personal compute

If you prefer to remove the restrictions via your PC, this option is also available for anyone. It may be more difficult for you, since in the current version of Instagram desktop site there is no specific list of all the accounts you blocked. However, you may still unblock the people one by one by going to their personal account page individually. Here is the list of step you should follow if you would like to use a desktop version of the service:


  1. Open the desktop version of Instagram by clicking on the link: https://www.instagram.com.

  2. Log in to your account.

  3. Type in the Search bar above the name of the account you would like to unblock.

  4. Go to the account page shown in the search results.

  5. Tap "Unblock" for the account you would like to allow to message you and see your posts again.

  6. You will see a notification asking you to confirm this action towards the people you want to unblock and telling you that "they won't be able to find your profile, posts or story on Instagram. Instagram won't let them know you blocked them."

  7. Tap "Unblock" if you want to finish this process or "Cancel" if you changed your mind.
unblocking on instagram
Keep in mind that if you block someone you automatically unfollow their accounts as well as they unfollow yours. By unblocking an account you don't automatically become friends again, you simply remove the restrictions and you need to initiate another procedure. If all of a sudden you have a change of heart, you can always repeat this process, but keep in mind that while the accounts you follow do not receive a notification when you block them, they do receive a notification when you re-add them as friends and therefore you may need to face certain questions.

What do you think?

Share article with your friends

Leave your thoughts

Answers on the most
common questions
Where can I find a list of blocked Instagram accounts on my phone?
Go to Profile - Settings - Privacy - Blocked Accounts.
What happens when I block an account on Instagram?
The account becomes unable to see your posts and message you. You also automatically unfollow each other.
When I block someone on Instagram, does this person receive a notification?
No, they don't receive a notification.